

Agenda Item Number 8. Lane Economic Committee Members

Date: January 27, 2022

Presenter: Brenda Wilson

Action Recommended: Appoint Members to the Lane Economic Committee

Background:

The Lane Economic Committee (LEC) operates under Bylaws approved by the LCOG Board. Under those Bylaws, appointments or re-appointments of LEC members are to be approved by the LCOG Board of Directors. The current LEC members, whose terms were expiring, were contacted to determine their interest in re-appointment. The members nominated by Eugene, Springfield, and Lane County continue to be nominated by their jurisdiction. The LEC met on November 8, 2021, and makes the following recommendations for appointment/re-appointment:

Vanessa Ringgold	Education – University of	Term expires 12/31/21. Re-appoint to	
	Oregon	a new three year term.	
Paul Berger	Business – Saavsus, Inc.	Term expires 12/31/21. Re-appoint to	
-	Child & Family help	a new three year term.	
Greg Ervin	Government – City of	Term expires 12/31/21. Re-appoint to	
	Cottage Grove	a new three year term.	
Anne Fifield	Government – City of	Term expires 12/31/21. Re-appoint to	
	Eugene	a new three year term.	
Mike Eyster	Lane Community College	Term expires 12/21/21. Re-appoint t	
		a new three year term.	
Courtney Griesel	Government – City of	Term expires 12/31/18. Re-appoint to	
	Springfield	a new three year term.	
Jenna Cusimano	Government – Lane	Appoint to a new three year term to	
	County	replace Austin Ramirez whose term	
		expires 12/31/21.	

The LEC bylaws provide that "members representing government shall include the following: a) Lane County Commissioner, b) City of Eugene Councilor, c) City of Springfield Councilor, and d) City Councilor from another incorporated city in Lane County. Members representing a government can be nominated by their respective jurisdictions, **except that the unspecified members will be selected by the LCOG Board**."

The "unspecified municipal elected official" is represented by Greg Ervin, City of Cottage Grove, who is recommended for re-appointment to this position.

The attached table shows the full member list of the LEC and assumes favorable action on these recommended nominations for appointment/re-appointment.

Suggested Action:

Recommend Board appoint/re-appoint the above listed individuals to the LEC.

LEC MEMBERS	EMPLOYER	REPRESENTING	Term Began	Term Ends	Alternate
TBD		(Business)	2019	N/A	
Anne Fifield*	City of Eugene	Government	N/A	12/21	TBD
Ashley Espinoza	Lane Workforce Partnership	Business / Labor	2018	12/23	Kristina Payne
Courtney Griesel*	City of Springfield Economic Director	Government	N/A	12/21	TBD
Faye Stewart	City of Cottage Grove Public Works/ED Director	Economic Development / Government	2020	12/23	Robert Scoggin
Greg Ervin**	City of Cottage Grove Councilor	Government	2018	12/21	Len Blackstone
Jenna Cusimano*	Lane County Economic Development	Government	2018	12/21	TBD
Jeremy Caudle	City of Lowell City Administrator	Government	2020	12/23	Mike Galvin
Kari Westlund	Travel Lane County	Ex-Officio	2017	N/A	Andy Vobora
Kelli Weese	City of Florence	Government	2009	12/23	Sarah Moehrke
Mark Bodie	U.S. Bank	Business / Finance	2020	12/23	Gary Collins
Matt Michel	City of Veneta City Administer	Government	2020	12/23	
Mike Eyster	Lane Community College Board Member	Education	2018	12/21	
Paul Berger	Saavsus	Business	2014	12/21	Larry Brice
Raymond Hardman	Emerald Broadband	Business	2020	12/23	
Robert Killen	LCC SBDC	Business / Education	2020	12/23	Jake Clifton
Vanessa Ringgold	University of Oregon	Education	2018	12/21	Karen Hyatt

*These positions are appointed by their respective elected bodies. **This position is appointed by the LCOG Board. Red highlighted members have terms ending in December 2021.