LANE COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Lane Council of Governments LCOG, 859 Willamette Street, Suite 500, Eugene The meeting was held in person and via teleconference.

December 21, 2023 6:00 p.m.

VOTING MEMBERS

Present

Bd. Member Heather Buch, Chair (Lane County)

Bd. Member Sonya Carlson, Vice Chair (Eugene Water and Electric Board (EWEB))

Bd. Member Mike Eyster, Lane Community

College (LCC)

Greg James, Willamalane Park & Recreation

District

Sherry Duerst-Higgins, Lane Education Service

District (ESD) and School District 45J3 Mayor Nancy Bell (City of Coburg)

Councilor Randy Groves (City of Eugene)

Mayor Rob Ward (City of Florence)

Mayor Ken Wells (City of Junction City)

Mayor Bryan Cutchen (City of Oakridge)

Councilor Kori Rodley (City of Springfield)

Bd. Member Jenny Jonak (School District 4J)

Bd. Member Ken Kohl (School District 19)

Bd. Member Steve Recca (Fern Ridge Library

Board)

Bd. Member Donna Oshel (Siuslaw Public

Library District)

Bd. Member Curt Kendall (River Road Parks &

Rec. District)

Absent

Representative City of Cottage Grove
Representative City of Creswell
Representative City of Dunes City
Representative City of Lowell
Representative City of Veneta
Representative City of Westfir
Representative Heceta Water PUD
Representative Emerald People's Utility Distric

Representative Freeda Water Fob Representative Emerald People's Utility District Representative Siuslaw Valley Fire and Rescue Representative Western Lane Ambulance District Representative Rainbow Water and Fire District

Representative School District 40 Representative School District 52 Representative School District 68 Representative Lane Library District Representative Junction City RFPD Representative Port of Siuslaw

OTHERS

Pete Knox, Lane Transit District (LTD), Non-voting member Brenda Moore, LCOG Executive Director Krista Purser, Kittleson & Associates Keina Wolfe, LCOG Finance Director Laura Campbell, LCOG Public Information Officer Kate Wilson, LCOG Senior Transportation Planner Michael Wisth, Government Services Division Manager Beth Bridges, Minutes Recorder

CALL MEETING TO ORDER

1. Welcome & Introductions

Chair Heather Buch called the meeting of the Lane Council of Governments (LCOG) Board of Directors to order at 6:02 p.m. Those present introduced themselves.

2. Requests for Additions to the Agenda

LCOG Executive Director Brenda Wilson requested the addition of Board consideration of a letter of support for Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries (DOGAMI)'s grant application to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

3. Public Comment

Ali Hunter, expressed concerns the vote for the Senior and Disability Services (S&DS) advisory council positions had been postponed. Later in the meeting, Ms. Wilson said voting on the S&DS advisory council positions would be part of a special January 2024 LCOG Board meeting.

4. PRESENTATION AND ACTION

a. Link Lane Transit Development Plan

LCOG Principal Transportation Planner Kate Wilson reviewed the rural transit service, Link Lane. She introduced Krista Purser, Kittleson & Associations, who gave a Powerpoint presentation entitled *Link Lane Transit Development Plan*. Ms. Purser discussed the plan's contents, including recommendations for bus routes and services, bus stops and facilities, and coordination and rider tools for convenience. She reviewed the project schedule, highlighting in detail the outreach activities and their results.

Bryan Cutchen observed an issue brought up to him was that LCC and University of Oregon (UO) students were charged fees for bus service but the Diamond Express (Oakridge:Eugene service) did not participate in the ride service. Ms. Purser responded the issue had been shared with LTD.

When Kori Rodley asked if there were additional outreach activities in the plan to see if the potential to increase ridership was realized, Ms. Purser said service performance measures were gathered on an ongoing basis that provided ridership information.

Nancy Bell said Coburg staff had met with Link Lane staff after the prior presentation and they had agreed Coburg would be included in future outreach efforts. Mayor Bell noted older residents of Coburg were interested in getting to Eugene without driving cars.

Randy Groves moved to adopt the Link Lane Transit Development Plan, dated December 2023, as submitted. Mayor Bell provided the second. The chair asked if anyone wished to vote against the motion or abstain. Seeing none, she declared the motion had passed unanimously.

BUSINESS ITEMS

- 5. Consent Agenda
- a. Minutes of September 28, 2023

Sonya Carlson corrected the spelling of her name in the list of those present (Sonja Sonya Carlson).

b. FY25 Member Dues

Ms. Wilson said the Executive Committee had reviewed the FY25 Member Dues and voted unanimously to adopt the same rate structure.

Sherry Duerst-Higgins moved to adopt the Consent Agenda (with the minutes corrected). Steve Recca provided the second. The Chair asked if anyone was opposed to the motion or abstained. Seeing none, she declared the motion passed unanimously.

6. Letter of Support

Ms. Wilson explained DOGAMI staff were submitting a grant application to FEMA to fund risk and geohazard studies for multiple hazards in Lane County, e.g., wildfires followed by floods. They had requested LCOG provide a letter of support.

Mike Eyster moved that LCOG provide a letter of support for DOGAMI's grant application to FEMA. Steve Recca seconded. The Chair asked if anyone was opposed to the motion or abstained. Seeing none, she declared the motion passed unanimously.

7. Elections of Chair and Vice-Chair for 2024-2026

Commissioner Buch shared it had been her pleasure to serve as Chair for the last two years and Vice-Chair the prior two years.

Ms. Wilson said the Executive Committee had voted to forward the recommendation that Sonya Carlson be elected Chair and Greg James be elected Vice-Chair for 2024-2026. They would assume their leadership roles at the February 2024 LCOG Board meeting. Commissioner Buch clarified the vote was for the jurisdiction representative to fill the position, not specific individuals.

Mr. Eyster moved to appoint Sonya Carlson (EWEB) as Chair and Greg James (Willamalane Park and Recreation District) as Vice-Chair of the LCOG Board for 2024-2026. Ms. Duerst-Higgins provided the second. The Chair asked if anyone was opposed to the motion or abstained. Seeing none, she declared the motion passed unanimously.

Commissioner Buch noted along with the change in leadership, there would be upcoming positions available on the Executive Committee.

8. Employees Association Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) for

Ms. Wilson said the agreement covered non-management employees in the Government Services division, represented by the Employees Association (EA) union. She recognized Government Services Division Manager Michael Wisth's role in the negotiations. Ms. Wilson reviewed the changes negotiated and listed in the agenda item memo in the agenda packet.

Mr. Eyster moved to approve the bargaining agreement between LCOG and the EA. Sonya Carlson provided the second. The Chair asked if anyone was opposed to the motion or abstained. Seeing none, she declared the motion passed unanimously.

WRAP UP

When Commissioner Buch asked if there were suggestions for future LCOG Board meeting agenda topics, Ms. Duerst-Higgins suggested discussing issues surrounding the unhoused. Mr. James raised the topic of recreational immunity.

Chair Buch adjourned the December LCOG Board of Directors meeting at 6:50 p.m.