

## Agenda Item Number 9. CWEDD Committee Members

Date: February 22, 2024

**Presenter: Brenda Moore** 

**Action Recommended: Appoint CWEDD Committee Members** 

## **Background:**

Cascades West Economic Development District (CWEDD) is a four-county district comprised of Lane, Linn, Benton, and Lincoln Counties, coordinated through a partnership between Oregon Cascades West Council of Governments and Lane Council of Governments. The CWEDD is designated by the U.S. Department of Commerce Economic Development Administration (EDA) to work on economic development efforts in the four-county region.

The primary focus of CWEDD is the preparation and implementation of the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS). The CEDS undergoes a major review and update every five years. The CEDS is currently being updated.

The CWEDD is governed by a board of 20 members. LCOG is allowed to select six members from its Executive Committee to be members of the CWEDD board. In addition, the Chair and Vice-Chair of CWEDD rotate between representatives of the region. This year, a representative from Lane County will serve as the Vice-Chair.

The CWEDD Board meets quarterly on the 2nd Thursday of these months 9:00 – 11:00 am: May 09, August 08, and November 14. The CWEDD Executive Committee meets quarterly on the last Thursday of these months11:00 am – 12:00 pm (opposite month of the CWEDD Board): April 25, July 25, and October 31.

Suggested Action: Motion to Appoint six members to the Cascades West Economic Development District Board.