

February 14, 2023

**To:** Executive Committee

From: Brenda Wilson

**Subject:** Cascades West Economic Development District Board Members

**Action Recommended:** Appoint Members

## **Background:**

Cascades West Economic Development District (CWEDD) is a four-county district comprised of Lane, Linn, Benton, and Lincoln Counties, coordinated through a partnership between Oregon Cascades West Council of Governments and Lane Council of Governments. The CWEDD is designated by the U.S. Department of Commerce Economic Development Administration (EDA) to work on economic development efforts in the four-county region.

The primary focus of CWEDD is the preparation and implementation of the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS). The CEDS undergoes a major review and update every five years. The CEDS is currently being updated.

The CWEDD is governed by a board of 20 members. LCOG is allowed to select six members from its Executive Committee to be members of the CWEDD board. In addition, the chair and the vice chair of the Lane Economic Committee are designated by CWEDD Bylaws to serve on the board. The CWEDD Board will meet throughout the year in order to assess progress towards CEDS goals. Dates have not yet been determined.

## **Suggested Action:**

Motion to Appoint six members to the Cascades West Economic Development District Board.