BYLAWS LANE COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS TRANSPORTATION PLANNING COMMITTEE

Article I

<u>Name</u>

This Committee shall be known as the Transportation Planning Committee (TPC) for the Central Lane Metropolitan Planning Organization area.

Article II

Purpose

The Committee shall undertake for the Lane Council of Governments the technical activities necessary for the continuing, comprehensive and cooperative (3-C) transportation planning process in the Central Lane Metropolitan Planning Organization (CLMPO) area, as described in the Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP).

The Committee shall conduct, under the direction of the LCOG Board and the Metropolitan Policy Committee (MPC), the technical portions of the Central Lane Metropolitan Planning Organization transportation system planning, including, but not limited to the following activities:

- a. Preparation of the Central Lane Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Regional Transportation Plan (RTP)
- b. Annual preparation of the Unified Planning Work Program to address transportation issues in the metropolitan area.
- c. Preparation of other plans, programs and special studies to address transportation issues in the metropolitan area.
- d. Work with the CLMPO Citizen Advisory Committee (CAC) to ensure public participation in the transportation planning process.
- e. Serve as the standing committee for purposes of consultation required under the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality Air Quality Conformity Rule.

Article III

Membership - Voting

Section 1. Membership of the Committee

- Director of Public Works Lane County a. Director of Public Works - City of Eugene Director of Public Works - Springfield Director of Planning - Lane County Planning Director - City of Eugene Planning Manager - City of Springfield Director of Development Services - Lane Transit District Director of Marketing and Communications - Lane Transit District Transportation Planning Engineer - Lane County Transportation Engineer - City of Eugene Traffic Engineer - City of Springfield Region 2 Transportation Representative - Oregon Department of Transportation Manager - Eugene Airport Representative - Lane Regional Air Pollution Authority Representative - City of Coburg **Commuter Solutions Program Manager**
- b. Members may designate representatives to serve in their names.
- c. Designees may serve on a meeting-by-meeting basis or on a permanent basis.
- d. Designees serving on a permanent basis shall be afforded all the rights of a member, including the opportunity to serve as a committee officer.
- e. The committee shall have non-voting ex-officio members as appointed by the chair.
- f. The Federal Highway Administration Division Planning Engineer shall serve as a non-voting ex-officio member.
- g. The MPO's Citizens' Advisory Committee (CAC) chair shall serve as a non-voting ex-officio member.

Section 2. Appointment and Tenure of Committee Membership

- a. Each jurisdiction with membership on the committee shall appoint its representatives.
- b. Members shall serve until they are replaced by their jurisdictions.

Section 3. Voting Privileges

Each member of the committee shall be entitled to one vote on all issues presented at regular and special meetings at which the member (or designee) is present.

Article IV

Meetings

Section 1. Regular Meetings

- a. The committee shall hold its regular meeting on the fourth Thursday of each month.
- b. The regular meeting for the month of January each year shall be designated as the annual meeting.

Section 2. Special Meetings

- a. Special meetings may be called by the chair, vice chair or LCOG transportation staff on two days' notice.
- b. The person or persons calling such special meeting shall fix the time and place for holding of such meeting.
- Section 3. Conduct of Meetings
- a. Official action may be taken by the committee when a quorum is present.
- b. A quorum shall exist when at least one member each from Eugene, Springfield, Lane County, Lane Transit District and the Oregon Department of Transportation is present. In cases when less than a quorum is present, a majority of those members present may vote to adjourn the meeting to a later date.
- c. The act of a majority of the members present at a meeting at which a quorum is present shall be the act of the committee.
- d. All meetings shall be conducted in accordance with <u>Robert's Rules of</u> <u>Order.</u>

Article V

Officers and Duties

Section 1. Officers

The officers of the committee shall be a chair and vice-chair to be elected at the annual meeting in January.

Section 2. Term of Office

The officers shall hold office for a period of one year, beginning at the close of the annual meeting.

Section 3. Duties

- a. The chair shall preside at all meetings and is entitled to vote on all issues.
- b. The vice chair shall perform all duties of the chair in the chair's absence.

Section 4. LCOG Transportation and Public Infrastructure Program Manager

The Lane Council of Governments' Transportation and Public Infrastructure Program Manager (or designee) shall be an ex-officio member of the Committee. The Program Manager shall be responsible for staff support of the committee, including agenda preparation, room reservation, minute-taking and record keeping.

Article VI

Subcommittees

Section 1. Subcommittees

- a. Subcommittees as needed shall be appointed by the chair.
- b. The members of subcommittees shall serve until the work of the subcommittees is completed, or until their successors have been elected or appointed.
- c. Subcommittees must have at least one member who is a member of the full committee.
- d. The TPC chair and the LCOG Transportation and Public Infrastructure Program Manager (or their designees) shall serve as ex-officio members of all subcommittees.
- e. The committee, by a majority vote, may dissolve subcommittees or remove individual members with or without cause.

Section 2. Subcommittee Meetings

Meetings of each subcommittee may be called by its chair, by the chair of the Transportation Planning Committee, by any two subcommittee members or by LCOG transportation staff on two days' notice. A majority of the members of each subcommittee shall constitute a quorum, and an act of the majority of the quorum present at the meeting shall constitute the act of the subcommittee.

Section 3. Standing Subcommittees

- a. The committee may approve the formation of standing subcommittees as needed.
- b. Standing subcommittees shall provide updates at scheduled meetings of the full committee.
- c. Membership on standing subcommittees shall be approved by the committee.
- d. The chair and the LCOG Transportation and Public Infrastructure Program Manager (or their designees) shall serve as ex-officio members of all standing subcommittees
- e. The committee shall review the status and necessity of its standing subcommittees on an annual basis.

Article VII

Amendments of Bylaws

Section 1.

These bylaws may be amended or repealed or new bylaws may be adopted by a vote of two-thirds of the members of the committee present at any regular or special meeting called for that purpose. Written notice of proposed amendments shall be given to the membership of the committee at least thirty days prior to the date of the meeting at which the bylaws are to be considered.

Section 2.

Amendments to the bylaws shall become effective upon approval by the Metropolitan Policy Committee.

Approved by the Metropolitan Policy Committee on May 12, 2005.

LCOG: T:\MPO\COMMITTEES\MPC\FY05\MAY 05\MPC 4.B - ATTACHMENT 1 - TPC BYLAWS AMENDMENTS.DOC Last Saved: February 17, 2016